Well…it’s coming! In a few short minutes I’m leaving for the gym and I’ll be honest, dreading it like no other. I’ve let myself get so out of shape that the gym seems like a really truly daunting task. Ryan says it does for him too, so we both agree, we must get back. We’ve let other priorities (i.e. our couch and DVR, work, stress…) get in the way. But also there has truly been Ryan’s schedule (last semester he averaged 3-4 hours sleep per night at least 4 nights a week) and so maybe the DVR thing is just really my problem…

In all reality, though, we are in full agreement that our priorities must change. Not just physically! We have become accumulators of STUFF. We love buying (and apparently love shopping), and we’ve just accumulated JUNK. It’s of course not all truly junk, however because it fills my our every cubby, cabinet and bin, it starts to all just feel like junk, and we’re unable to appreciate the things we truly care about. We’ve committed to not buying things this year. There are two exceptions to this rule: (a) We have planned to purchase it and are saving up or (b) We have a true need. We both chose 2 things that are important to us this year, and we’re saving towards those goals. No more $5.99 shirt just because it’s on clearance (that goes for us both!).

We are going to become better stewards of our belongings, toss what we are not using or don’t like, and start enjoying and truly using what we do love and already have. I can’t remember the last time I actually finished off a lip gloss or a bottle of lotion before I accumulated another one. So, this will be the year of finishing lip glosses and wearing the clothes we already have. The year of cutting back on our seemingly hundreds of “entertainment” outlets and making them real, true experiences (heard of hiking, dog parks, and games anyone!?). I vow to not have my face stuck in my phone ALL THE TIME and to pull myself away from HGTV/BRAVO/FOODNETWORK (my obsessions). I look forward to making memories, taking great pictures, and spending lots of time with my husband, family, friends, and puppies!

 

